Nocturnal Thought: Self-Expression

 

Hello, I have random nocturnal thoughts I’d like to share. It can get boring from here, but if you’re up this late, you might want to read this so the boredom may put you to sleep 🙂 lol 

Self-expression is one of the things that I value the most in my life. I guess that has to do with always having so many thoughts, but never really knowing how to express them nor having the opportunity to do so. I have met people who are extremely artistic and talented, and I admire those that are able to express themselves so well without having to say much or do much.

Self-expression is not limited to visual arts or music, but I’d like to hone my skills in those areas so I may express myself better. But expressing myself through writing poses a different challenge for me. Having English as my second language and being immersed in an English-speaking culture for only less than seven years add to the challenge, but it also added to my interest in reading more literature, semantics, and increasing my vocabulary.  Developing that ability to communicate my thoughts and emotions better through writing is one of the things that I strive for and is the reason why I have this blog.

My appreciation for those that can express themselves in brevity has led to an interest in flash fiction. I read a handful of them, but there was one that really got to me. It was one attributed to Hemingway, and it is an extreme example of flash-fiction. It was:

For sale: Baby shoes, never worn.

It had only six-words, but what I found interesting was upon reading it, not only did I feel the emotions but I encoded an entire story line in my head. It was so simple, yet loaded with so much information. I felt the tragedy, love, loss, humility in it… and I tried to play with these feelings as I was mentally writing the story down. I shared this “story line” to someone as soon as it came to mind, because I was afraid that my thought would elude me if I didn’t express it. I literally copy-pasted from the conversation I had with someone, and you may find it here on this link: [story]

Upon reading it again, I do realize that there are many things I could change about it. I’d like to develop it further some day, but the z’s have caught up to me and immediately put an end to this nocturnal thought. I’d like to end this post with a quote I found online:

Leave a comment